Gyanmandu LOGO



Ad Above News Title

The first women to win The Abel Prize in Mathematics

The Abel Prize in mathematics on Tuesday awarded to Karen Uhlenbeck of the U.S. for her work on partial differential equations, the first woman to win the award. Karen Uhlenbeck receives the Abel Prize 2019 for her fundamental work in geometric analysis and gauge theory, which has dramatically changed the mathematical landscape. Her theories have revolutionised the understanding of minimal surfaces, such as those formed by soap bubbles, and more general minimisation problems in higher dimensions and advances in essence to put a rigorous mathematical underpinning to techniques widely used by physicists in quantum field theory to describe fundamental interactions between particles and forces.

She is also a role model and a strong advocate for gender equality in science and mathematics. The prize comes with a cheque for $7,03,000. The prize is named after the 19th century Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel.

Sunrise Bank

Ad Below News Title

Ad After News Content

Bottom News Content

Bottom News Content


Enjoy Your Study