Gyanmandu LOGO



Ad Above News Title

8th National Games: Three National records set

Three national records tumbled on the opening day of the National Swimming Championships under the eighth National Games in Nepalgunj on Sunday.
The 16 yrs old Gaurika Singh of Tribhuvan Army Club(TAC) has won two gold medals with a national record in the swimming under the eighth national games. On Monday, in Banke, Nepalgunj, Gaurika won gold medal with national record in 100 meters free style swimming championship. She completed the distance in 59.60 seconds improving her own mark of 59.91seconds and has set a national record. The Army's Sophia Shah came second in 1:02.59, while APF’s Tisa Shakya was third in 1:03.56.

Similarly, Graurika has won gold medal in 400 meters freestyle as well with the timing of 4:44.81, while her TAC teammate Duana Lama won silver in 4:50.47. APF’s Tisa Shakya won the bronze finishing in 5:12.04. Sofia Sah won gold in women’s 50m butterfly with the timing of 33.50 seconds, while Anushiya Tandukar of NPC came second in 34.75 and Shreebi Maharjan of APF was third in 36.62.

TAC swimmers Duana Lama and Upasti Maharjan finished first and second in women’s 200m breaststroke event. Lama won gold in 2:55.09 and Maharjan won silver in 3:00.53. Adipsa Vaidya of NPC was third in 3:03.62.

Yet another record was beaten when Sayed Hamza Shah of Nepal Police Club(NPC) broke the men’s 50m freestyle completing in 27 seconds improvising his own marks of 27.10 seconds. TAC’s Anubhav Subba finished second at 27.31 seconds and Tenzing Namdol Ryan Gurung  won the bronze finishing third in 29.62 seconds.
Alex Shah of TAC also set new national record in men’s 100m freestyle improving on his previous mark of 55.38 seconds to win gold medal in 55.63. Sayed Hamza Shah of Nepal Police Club(NPC) came second in 55.94 while TAC’s Anubhav Subba came third in 57.30.

Nathan Dorje Sherpa of Non Residential Nepali Association(NRNA) won his second gold medal of the eight national games when he finished first in men’s 400m freestyle finishing  in 4:33.09, while APF's Nasir Hussain and Urgen Maharjan finished second and third in 4:39.47 & 5:01.50 respectively.

Likewise, Shuvam Shrestha of APF came first in men’s 200m breaststroke ahead of NPC’s Dipankar Awale 2:37.81 and Province 1's Bikash Kumal 2:39.56.

Sunrise Bank

Ad Below News Title

Ad After News Content

Bottom News Content

Bottom News Content


Enjoy Your Study